Reviews

Cover: Stella Batts: Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow

A Review of "Stella Batts: Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow" in The Midwest Book Review

“Stella Batts: Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow” is a chapter book with immense appeal for kids age 7 and up, second in a series. Life starts out positive for Stella, child of candy store owners who gets to be an Official Batts Confections Taste-Tester. But after she goes to sleep testing magic… View »

 
Cover: Save the Planet: Compost It

Vegbooks.Org - Compost It

Compost It is part of Cherry Lake Publishing’s Save the Planet Series. This book walks kids through the steps of composting in a logical, straightforward manner. For kids who are unfamiliar with or rusty on the basics of composting, the linear order will be especially welcome when learning… View »

 
Cover: Delia's Dull Day: An Incredibly Boring Story

A Review of "Delia’s Dull Day: An Incredibly Boring Story" in Kirkus Reviews

An amusing visual riff on the frequent refrain “nothing ever happens to me.”…
Delia recounts the details of her incredibly dull yesterday. While her words describe a pedestrian day from breakfast to bedtime, the illustrations tell a completely different story. While Delia’s eyes are either View »

 
Cover: Stella Batts: Pardon Me

A Review of "Pardon Me" in Kirkus Reviews

Back for her third outing, Stella reports, “If you write at least three books that are all connected then you have a series.”…
All is not well for Stella: Her BFF has moved far away, leaving a serious sense of loneliness and loss, which is made all the worse when she calls Willa and her fr View »

 
Cover: The Quilt Walk

A Review of "The Quilt Walk" in Kirkus Reviews

When 10-year-old Emmy Blue Hatchett’s father announces that the family will be traveling from their home in Illinois to the frontier town of Golden, Colo., the reaction to the news is as varied as the colors in one of their beloved hand-pieced quilts…
It is 1863, and the Colorado Gold Rus View »

 
Cover: The People of Twelve Thousand Winters

A Review of "The People of Twelve Thousand Winters" in School library Journal

Gr 2-4–Walking Turtle and Little Talk are children of the Lenni Lenape, living in an undetermined time in a region now part of New Jersey. They seem wise beyond their years as they convey the way of life and some of the cultural practices of their people. Ten-year-old Walking Turtle… View »

 
Cover: It's Cool to Learn About the United States

Library Media Connections - It's Cool to Learn About the United States

Bright colorful images highlight the areas featured in each of these volumes, making it a very inviting series. Each volume is written by a different well-known nonfiction author and discusses topography, state capitals, the history of the region, the government and economy, people, and… View »

 
Cover: History Digs

Library Media Connections - History Digs

Stories in each title are told through the eyes of a student who acts as a historian gathering facts, artifacts, and photographs from interviews, museums, and other locations. A mission is given at the beginning of each book. Although the chapters are short, these are good starter books for… View »

 
Cover: A Giraffe Did One

A Review of "A Giraffe Did One" in Publishers Weekly

In the tradition of Everyone Poops, Pallotta’s gently mischievous story features cute animals that share one thing in common: occasional flatulence. “A flock of birds flew by. OK, who did it? We’ll never know which one it was.” Meanwhile, a fox, seen peering coyly around a tree, “was sneaky… View »

 
Cover: Track that Scat!

A Review of "Track That Scat!" in Publishers Weekly

Stepping in animal poop is rarely cause for celebration, but it is for a girl named Finn in a story that invokes not one, not two, but three meanings of the word “scat.” On a wildlife walk with her basset hound, Finn introduces her brand-new sneakers to a potpourri of animal scat: “Three-toe View »