Frog's Flying Adventure

Welcome to Frog and his world. He enjoys nothing better than spending time floating in his pond or visiting with his friends. He appreciates the simpler things in life and would prefer that things stay just the way they are--nice and peaceful. From acclaimed children's writer Eve Bunting comes a beginning reader series featuring the delightful Frog and his friends Rabbit, Possum, Raccoon, and Squirrel. In Frog's Flying Adventure's trio of stories Frog worries when a flower friend starts to fade, takes to the skies with a sea gull friend, and has trouble falling to sleep.

Format List Price Your Price Qty
$9.95 $9.95
$3.99 $3.99
$21.95 $21.95
Interest Level Grade 1 - Grade 2
Reading Level Grade 2
Dewey E
Lexile 440L
ATOS Reading Level 2.0
Guided Reading Level J
Language English
Publisher Sleeping Bear Press
Available Formats Hardcover (9781585368051), Paperback (9781585368068), PDF (9781627531061), Hosted ebook (9781627535519)
Copyright 2013, 2014
Number of Pages 48
Dimensions 6 x 9
Graphics Full-color illustrations
  • 2014 California Collection List - Elementary, Winner, 2014

Frog's Flying Adventure review - January SLJ

Gr 1-3–At first glance this book is a typical easy reader, and children will delight in Frog’s adventures with his friends. Masse’s bright illustrations reinforce the sweet tone of the three stories. Adults, however, will note a distinct philosophical overlay in each of the episodes. Observing the drooping leaves on their new friend Flower, the animal pals confront her life cycle with sadness, taking comfort at last in the new flower that grows from her seed. Seizing the opportunity to move beyond his pond, Frog flies on Seagull’s back and sees a cow and a horse for the first time. He experiences the exhilaration and fear that go hand in hand with stretching one’s wings and the joy of returning home. Finally, when Frog suffers insomnia, the communal effort of his friends provides a cure, but the fact that each one offers a unique remedy speaks to the individual contributions made in a time of crisis. Bunting strikes a warm and nostalgic tone in this jewel of a book that is reminiscent of classics like Arnold Lobel’s “Frog and Toad” series and Else Homelund Minarik’s “Little Bear” books (both HarperCollins).

A Review of "Frog and Friends" in Great Kid Books

Finding books that work just right for new readers is a tricky business, as many families know. Children who are new to reading on their own often want humor, surprises and twists in the plot – and yet they need fairly straightforward books that are easy to grasp. The wonderful Eve Bunting, author of more than 250 children’s books, has started a new series for beginning readers: Frog and Friends. This lovely series is designed for newly independent readers who are ready for short chapter books, much like the classic Little Bear books and Frog and Toad books.

Frog and Friends by Eve Bunting illustrated by Josee Masse I Am a Reader series MI: Sleeping Bear Press, 2011 ages 4 – 7 available at your local library, favorite bookstore and on Amazon

Frog and his forest friends will bring a smile to your face as they explore their world, stumble across strange discoveries and figure out how to solve problems. With three short, independent chapters, Bunting and Masse have created a group of friends that feel at once familiar and fresh.

Each story has just the right amount of twist or surprise to keep new readers hooked. In the first story, Frog and his friends discover a huge orange THING. Well, the reader knows at once that it’s a balloon, but the fun is watching Frog and his friends investigate this strange thing, getting lifted high up into the sky (bringing on memories of Pooh Bear floating away on a balloon), and then confounded when it pops on a spiky tree branch. The second and third stories require Frog to engage in some creative problem-solving skills, with an unwanted present and an over-sized visitor. Each of the stories can be read on its own. This helps new readers feel like they are reading a “chapter book”, and yet they do not need to carry the plot from one chapter to the next. Masse’s illustrations, with their bright colors and cartoon feel, play off Bunting’s humor perfectly and will appeal to young readers.

Frog and Friends: Party at the Pond by Eve Bunting illustrated by Josee Masse MI: Sleeping Bear Press, 2011 ages 4-7 available at your local library, favorite bookstore and on Amazon

With the second in this new series, Bunting continues the same balance of humor and friendship. In the first story, Frog invites a new animal to his party, a chameleon that he thinks is lonely. Although his friends aren’t sure they want to accept the chameleon, Frog is determined to welcome this new friend. With a happy twist, the chameleon discovers how much fun the other animals have with his trick of changing colors.

In my favorite story of the lot, “No Kisses for Frog”, a little girl captures Frog determined to turn him into her fairy tale prince. She is shocked that Frog does not want to turn into a prince! Well, no more shocked than Frog is that she is going to kiss him! Readers will laugh at the way that Frog cleverly convinces this thoroughly modern girl that playing soccer and climbing tress is much more fun than being a princess and sitting properly at long dinners.

Once again, Bunting uses simple language, repetition and patterning of language, and humor to engage new readers in these stories about friendship. I will certainly be recommending this to our 1st and 2nd grade teachers.

Frog and Friends - Frog's Flying Adventure - Coloring Page

A Coloring page from the book Frog and Friends – Frog’s Flying Adventure" View →

Author: Eve Bunting

Eve Bunting was born in a little town in Ireland called Maghera and she was brought up in the tradition of storytelling. Her mother started a library in their house and there were always books available to read. Most were poetry, which Eve loved. She also loved ghost stories and adventure stories; actually stories of all kinds. So she grew up, got married, had three children, and became a storyteller herself.

Now Eve lives in California and writes books that tell stories. She has written a lot of books, more than 250, and hopes to write many more. Because storytelling is what she does. And what she loves to do.

Illustrator: Josée Masse

Josée Masse's children's books include "Mirror, Mirror" (selected as one of Publishers Weekly's Best Children's Books of 2010) and "Mousie Love" (included in Bank Street College's Best Children's Books of the Year, 2010).

  • A Flower for Frog
  • Frog Flies
  • Sleepy-Time Frog
Full-color illustrations